Paris: Part Four

Parisian Necropolis: Père Lachaise Cemetery

“I don’t ever think about death. It’s alright if you do, it’s fine.” – Glory and Gore by Lorde

I had that one line of that one song stuck in my head during this whole walk. This was one of my few Parisian expeditions I did alone, but that seemed appropriate; you don’t need a whole lot of company to explore a necropolis. Père Lachaise is the biggest cemetery in Paris, and it’s full of the rich and famous. I went on Halloween– the only really Halloweenish thing I did that day. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and even though I tried to deny it, I thought about death a lot.

Victor Noir. Rumor has it, rubbing a certain part of this statue brings fertility to women. For those of you wondering, yes. I did.

The Grave of Victor Noir. He was a journalist, but what’s he’s really famous for is the legend surrounding his grave. Supposedly rubbing his junk brings fertility to women. Yes, I did rub his junk.

Flowers at the Monument aux Morts.

Flowers at the Mounument aux Morts.

DSC_0606

Monument aux Morts, or Monument of the Dead.

DSC_0620

The grave of Heloise and Abelard. Worst love story ever.

DSC_0624

Jim Morrison’s grave.

DSC_0638

Oscar Wilde’s grave

DSC_0611 DSC_0629

One thought on “Paris: Part Four

Leave a Reply

